Filing for divorce isn’t always an easy process, which is why many consult with a professional for help. When compared to the entire United States, Massachusetts falls somewhere in the middle under a Find The Best ease of filing rating. The fact that the minimum total processing time for a divorce in the state is 120 is one factor that makes the process easier in Massachusetts than other states.
A filing fee is required with every divorce, and it lands at $215 per divorce in the state. This number is considered average, with the maximum fee in the United States landing at $409 and a minimum of $52. What other general rules apply to divorce in this jurisdiction?
Those that want to file for divorce and pay that $215 filing fee must have been a resident of the state for at least 12 months. Although some states require that a couple remain legally married for a designated length of time prior to filing for divorce, there is no such restriction for Wellesley residents.
After couples have filed the necessary papers, their marital property is equitably divided. This means that the judge will consider what property settlement is fair based on a number of circumstances. Of course, couples that want to control their own property division can negotiate a settlement together with the assistance of an attorney.
Found someone new? After a divorce has been finalized in the state, the ex-spouses are immediately able to say “I do” once again to someone new. Massachusetts is one of the few states that legally recognizes same-sex marriage, and thus recognizes same-sex divorce.
Need more questions answered about divorce in Massachusetts? A simple conversation with an attorney is the best way to get answers -- and ones that are tailored to the specific details of your situation.
Source: Find The Best, “Massachusetts Divorce Laws And Guidelines,” Accessed April 19, 2014